How Many Tests do You Take?

As promised there is and will be much, much more on this ‘Assault on Testing’ and the progressive folks who believe that we ought to do away with them for good.

This of course prompts me to ask:

How many tests do we take in a day? Month? Year? Decade? Quarter century, or full half century?

Moreover, based on that little (ut-oh!) question one is all the more prompted to ask this: What kinds of tests do we take and why do we take them?

All things being equal, I would love it if my students got as excited about displaying their knowledge say on a ‘Pop Culture’ test as they do about a trip to the department of motor vehicles to get their ‘Learner’s Permit’; I see these same young adults bring the DMV guidebook to answering the questions on the Driver’s License Exam into our classroom and study studiously!

Furthermore, not a break or lunch or snack period goes by that they’re not out there studying their little behinds off. So why do you think this is? Let’s look at some of the angst and pressures we feel about testing, evaluating, or authentic assessment; indeed, let’s also look at some of the tests we take and why we do. Sound fair enough? Great!

I remember my sophomore year in high school as though it was yesterday. Especially the day Russ was lecturing on how “…getting a driver’s license, changes everything! New doors are constantly being opened up and life just gets way more amazingly interesting.”

Here comes the immenient peer pressure. “Oh my gosh…What if I don’t pass? What if I fail?” How many people are counting on me to get this license? ‘Clueless Cher’ managed okay, I guess.

In short for all those who argue against taking tests here is perhaps something to ponder on:

Many folks believe, as I do, that we are tested every single day of our lives; in one way or another albeit spiritually, mentally, physically, or emotionally we’re going to face tests.

And that’s pretty much it–if life is filled with tests, don’t you think we ought to embrace them rather than repell them? Makes sense. Now consider this little reminder: Every single profession in the United States has a test to assess and evaluate whether or not a person is ready to perform in that profession, right.

Law students take the Bar Exam, Medical students take Board Exams (after residency), Dental students have their Boards, and Contractors have exams too, the likes I would hate to take! I have a friend who works at an oil refinery; for higher level pay, for higher level job security, for promotion, he must take tests at each level.

Think about it…

