Once upon a time in America

scalesThe family of a 17-year-old leukemia patient has sued health insurance giant Cigna Corp. for her death in 2007 after the company initially refused to pay for a liver transplant.

The lawsuit filed last week in Los Angeles County Superior Court by the family’s attorney, Mark Geragos, alleges breach of contract, unfair business practices and intentional infliction of emotional distress. The suit accuses Cigna of delaying and rejecting valid claims, which resulted in the wrongful death of Nataline Sarkisyan. (For more on the story read here.)

Just a couple of issues flash out at me when reading this tragic story: Albeit, my heart goes out to Nataline and her entire family and friends, I am still dismayed that her family would even consider suing Cigna. Why? The teenager was in the throngs of death anyway; why then, prolong her misery and pain? Simply because it is not right to litigate–even during ones grieving period.

Please believe me when I state: “I have no love-loss whatsoever with big insurance.” Unbeknownst to most, big insurance are the biggest negotiators of funds on the planet. What that means is that ‘institutional trading’ on behalf of billions of pension and profit sharing plans without the ability to absorb some of the losses is something Washington D.C. needs to address. I have also had my own ‘victimizing’ dealing with these giants.

Second, who on earth is Mark Garagos? Nah…don’t get me wrong here, I know who he is; moreover, I know what he’s about. The guy’s got a silver tongue! And please, puleeez, has he ever won a case? Scott Peterson got the death penalty; Winona Ryder guilty on all counts! Oh he was involved in the infamous People v. Simpson case I just don’t remember who he weaseled his way into representing.

Moral of my story based on this article:  Frivolous law suits, ad nauseum simply don’t belong in burdening or bogging down the system. Days of the ‘slip and fall, or personal injury, or product liability cases should be over by now. Let’s use the courts for what they were intended for.

 squiggly_blue

One Response

  1. […] Scott Peterson got the death penalty; Winona Ryder guilty on all counts! Oh he was involved in the infamous People v. Simpson case I just don’t remember who he weaseled his way into representing. Moral of my story based on this article: …[Continue Reading] […]

Comments are closed.

