Response to ‘Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell’

choiThis is a response to the open letter written to the President and Congress of the United States of America by Lt. Dan Choi, who to American Age, appears to be a confused Army officer. Lt. Choi describes the many lessons he learned at the United States Military Academy at West Point as lessons of courage, integrity, honesty and selfless service as being some of the most important.

up-quote-blueAt West Point, I recited the Cadet Prayer every Sunday. It taught us to “choose the harder right over the easier wrong” and to “never be content with a half truth when the whole can be won.” The Cadet Honor Code demanded truthfulness and honesty. It imposed a zero-tolerance policy against deception, or hiding behind comfort.

Dan Choi continues the letter with his feelings on how honestly and integrity are 24-hour virtues, that are not subject to compromise. Furthermore, as every other American who knows about the “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” policy in the military forces, Lt. Choi believes that this is an immoral law that fosters lying and deception, the basic elements that will tear apart any functioning unit.

up-quote-blue  As an infantry officer, an Iraq combat veteran and a West Point graduate with a degree in Arabic, I refuse to lie to my commanders. I refuse to lie to my peers. I refuse to lie to my subordinates. I demand honesty and courage from my soldiers. They should demand the same from me.

Lt. Dan Choi, in our humble opinion, learned nothing of values, integrity, and honesty whilst getting his education at West Point. Although in the beginning of his “Open letter” he nearly is able to convince even the hardest line opponents to homosexuality and the military forces.

However the very issues he alleges he learned at West Point, he demonstrates the exact opposite in reality. His curriculum taught a zero-tolerance policy against deception, fabricating the truth, and lying; yet, he made the cognitive choice to engage in these practices anyway. Lt. Choi deceived his soldiers; furthermore, he took the “easier wrong” and was quite content to live the “half truth.”

Sorry Dan Choi for your unpleasant circumstance; I speak alone not on behalf of American Age when I say that you have offended me! You take on the demeanor of how important values, ethics, and honestly are to you whilst at the same time deceiving everyone around you otherwise. I ask you: Is this good leadership?

I encourage you to go to Washington D.C. for employment that will pay you far more that the military will ever be capable. Plus you will be ‘inside the beltway’ rubbing shoulders with those very people who are exactly like you.  

And finally this story is so typical of the ‘left’ and in particular, the manipulation of facts to benefit one’s self. These are the tactics and strategies used by the current “Gay Movement” that is going on in the United States.

art_10

For further reading click here: ‘click’

