Dancing with Who(m)..?

What is it about humankind that makes us the reckless and disregarding animals that we have become? Wrote an article last evening entitled “What is the worst kind of disaster that faces mankind?” Oh heck yeah I put in as much pomp and parlor as I possibly could trying to make hurricanes, tornadoes, floods, lightning storms, and earthquakes ease into a romantic daze; only to easily say to whoever reads that story that it is humankind that I fear as the most dangerous and pitiful “accident” or disaster known to history.

I don’t mean that humankind is the worse – allow me please – it is the time after time decisions that humankind makes that worry me. And there are stories that go hideously along with each one. My favorite is the notion that humankind detonated the first test nuclear explosion without being assured that the fusion process would ever stop! Check this out – those people in the late 1930s and 1940s did not know if they could control the immediate nuclear blast that could have ended in the annihilation of everything known on earth. Oops sorry, remember the story of polio and the vaccine that could possibly end the spread of the disease? The inventor of the vaccine tested it on himself.

However, I just heard about the most ridiculous argument by a reporter and a qualified doctor discussing the intrinsic value of cross-gender surgery. And here’s my confusion: For years I looked, I wrote to authorities, special interest groups, and advocacy groups about the definition of sexual orientation. They all responded with side-steps “according to the American Psychological Association…”

Go with me here…something about sexual orientation seemed a little askew for me when considering national legislation, the 14th Amendment, the theory of appeasement and on down that course. Thankfully I had a wonderful group of folks in a LGBT community that just wanted to assist me – and I owe them so much, thanks gang!

The current consensus among scholars is that sexual orientation is not a choice. No simple, single cause for sexual orientation has been conclusively demonstrated, but research suggests that it is by a combination of genetic, hormonal, and environmental influences with biological factors involving a complex interplay of genetic factors and the early uterine environment.

That notwithstanding is the most politically correct statement I have ever written. Hold on now and I’ll show you precisely where the confusion comes in: The term sexual preference largely overlaps with sexual orientation, but is distinguished in psychological research. Nah! What this is telling me is that they don’t know the causality but it’s quite alright to string names together so that is gets so much easier for people to accept and swallow.

Okay why the hoopla over something that I’ve written about over and over? Chaz Bono and her making a mockery at me and all of us. I’ll stand alone on this one because I’ve met the woman, Cher, and she is about as bat-shit as anyone could ever be without being committed.

So what am I saying then? We are at a critical point in the history of humankind. We are also at a clear equinox in national decisions regarding same-sex marriage, the acceptability of LGBT communities, and of course the big one – are all things equal?

