It is our Nation’s Birthday!!

Spent the entire week in and with the Founding Fathers, and although it can be a brain message, there is just something different now in our present day, and most certainly back when the Founders were concocting the world’s greatest experiment with governing and government. It’s been quite an enlightening time for us and especially our assertions regarding their faith, oppression, government responsibilities, and other issues as well.

Yet, not wanting to come off as being too heavy on a holiday – especially America’s designated birthday – today let’s focus on more “other issues” mentioned in the last paragraph.
I wish I knew a lot more than I do…and I dearly hope that never changes. Yet, in the sphere of gaining knowledge there are not many ways of learning about all things than travelling. Moreover, not just travelling, but arranging for an extended stay in a different country. Learning and living in the societies of various countries sure allows for one to really appreciate what it is that we all call home. As to the founding and allowing immigrants in I look to the Founders:

“…And can the liberties of a nation be thought secure when we have removed their only firm basis, a conviction in the minds of the people who these liberties are the gift of God? That they are not to be violated, but with his wrath? Indeed I tremble for my country when I reflect that God is just: that his justice cannot sleep for ever. Thomas Jefferson Notes on the State of Virginia, Query 18, 1781

In our reflective moods around here I can tell that my friends, associates, and colleagues are thinking about the July 4th Independence Day celebration trying to sort out everything that goes on…outdoor cooking, parks, family ties, football, baseball, and basketball games played like it was the Super Bowl of any given sport. And least I forget all of the friends of friends coming along for humungous fruit salads, chips of every sort, hamburgers, hot dogs, pizza, everything imaginable.

This is one day in America’s calendar that celebrates her birth. And imagining how things must have been back during the Revolutionary epoch, if only for a moment, let’s all get dressed in colonial attire and go outside and listen to someone read the Declaration of Independence. Right! Where I am presently it is right around 100° F with a heat index around 105 to 107° F. Still albeit on the inside where we are air conditioned or on the outside collecting more sun for my own bouts with various cancer procedures…I am ready and willing to go wherever just to celebrate America!

Not all that long ago I was in Sydney, Australia and much to my surprise my mates all chipped in to show me how they celebrated Independence Day (American) down-under. Believe me they didn’t have too, yet, they wanted too as Aussies’ go with very, very acute memories. They also have a unique supply of fireworks down-under, literally coming from all over the world. We partied, and partied, and were still partying the next morning. That’s one 4th of July I will never forget.

Three years earlier, at the Constitutional Convention, Madison said, he “…wished to invite foreigners of merit and republican principles among us. America was indebted to emigration for her settlement and prosperity.”

Then not too long before that I was in high-school. And here is something that has astounded me for life. The population of the USA has more than doubled since leaving high-school. And I’m thinking, “…where did all these people come from…” They all seem very, very nice and will definitely go the extra mile for anyone, but where did they come from and why here?
Most, if not all of the people that we know who have relocated or immigrated to the U.S.A. did so for a reason. I, for one, do not believe that anyone is going to leave their circumstances if everything in their lives is nicely taken care of – personal wealth, family fortunes, or position in society. Therefore, it is quite easy to conclude that the majority of us who have immigrated to America did so for a reason.

What is that reason? A better lifestyle, more freedoms, access to more, to become a homeowner, education for the children, suffice it to say the proverbial “American Dream.” The only thing that anyone – ethically or morally – can possibly with good conscience ask is that once here let’s not try and change the way that the country is or what it is about.
And if one goes around trying to change this, that, or another aspect of America while a friend or two, three, or four join in very soon America will not be the America that you came here to make a better life. And before I forget, since I left Australia the last time, their population has doubled as well.

Please remember the reason for this celebration and let’s continue to understand and realize what they all have gone through. Thank you.

