Got to face Reality

Got to face Reality

I was just reading a great announcement on the Daily Post about issues that we could use as inspiration in various and sundry blogs. Well not being one to pass-up the chance to have a sanctioned rant or even a tirade, the only deterrent I’ve found is in the availability to keep focused whilst writing, because as you know – that as one thinks about those matters that cause the blood pressure to rise – it seems as though the more matters come to mind.

Without further adieu…

Today like most days I started my day with prayer. Seriously just think about this for a moment, a second if you have one: How many days or even nanoseconds does one have where the creator of everything we know of says, “Ask, please ask!” Of course we are not addressing just anyone here…

So here in my own boudoir I have God – I’m sure we all know a bit or two about Him or Her, right? But considering the notion that he’s asking…and we find in reading these words that he is pleading with us to stay with him; well, who am I that God would even be mindful of me? And to think him pleading with me to ask him for something…

For most days I begin my morning prayers by asking Him/her how much longer are we – as a society, culture, nation, even individually going to continue with the long-suffering wondering if this person in our White House is either going to get us killed or do so much damage to our way of life that it ceases to exist.

I am very, very mindful of the “Exodus” of the Jews from what we know as Egypt to the version of the Promised Land. Yes the Jews left the place with you in their sight – day and night – for a sojourn that they’d planned for 40 days and by the time of their arrival some 40 or so years later, one could imagine the Whew! We made it!

Of course not taking into consideration day after day their lives were being spared by you from their enemies. Seriously, when I think of walking through the Red Sea at your parting my fingers start twitching. Moreover, every time Moses went up into the mountains or was distracted by a burning bush – the physical changes that he received made him brightly unrecognizable to most and what about the gifts from you that he brought back?

Unfortunately in our country today that was settled and colonized with a Judeo-Christian background in all things. Even the most modest accruements such as the Ten Commandments, taking time to worship you and your Son on his birthday…and yes, we could not leave out Easter, or even a commencement speech at graduation that would give thanks to you; all being indignantly, yet some feel righteously are being taken away from us.

It does indeed get worse when one considers that our very government is working – burning the midnight oil – figuring out God-less schemes to have us stop thinking or praying to you. Well Ma’am or Sir, I hear you, and no need to plead or even ask for that matter, I’m praying for your saving grace for this land we call America…even some of us call it home.

 

